The NEW Aged Care Single Quality Framework

Focus on consumers

The Australian Government has recently made some reforms to the Aged Care quality framework – what does this mean for you as a participant? It’s all good news!

As part of reforms to the aged care system, the government is developing an end-to-end, market-based system with the sector where the consumer drives quality. This includes a Single Aged Care Quality Framework (single quality framework) with:

  • a single set of quality standards for all aged care services called the Aged Care Quality Standards
  • improved quality assessment arrangements for assessing provider performance against quality standards
  • a single Charter of Aged Care Rights for all aged care recipients and
  • publication of improved information about quality to help consumers choose aged care and services.

The single quality framework will:

  • increase the focus on quality outcomes for consumers
  • recognise the diversity of service providers and consumers
  • better target assessment activities based on risk and reflect best practice regulation
  • and reflect best practice regulation.

Charter of Aged Care Rights

From 1 July 2019, the Charter of Aged Care Rights (Charter) applies to all consumers, regardless of the type of Australian Government funded aged care and services they receive.

The Charter applies to consumers once they start receiving Australian Government funded aged care, including:

  • residential care
  • home care packages
  • flexible care
  • services provided under the Commonwealth Home Support Programme and
  • the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program.

The aim of the new single quality framework is to put you – the participant – at the focus of aged care services and the quality you are receiving. The new Aged Care Quality Standards are:

Standard 1 – Consumer dignity and choice

Standard 2 – Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

Standard 3 – Personal care and clinical care

Standard 4 – Services and supports for daily living

Standard 5 – Organisation’s service environment

Standard 6 – Feedback and complaints

Standard 7 – Human resources

Standard 8 – Organisational governance

These standards outline what and how you should be receiving your services, what should be available to you and what you should expect from us – your service provider.

At All About Living – we believe we have always offered consumer-driven care and excited to now be measured by this level of quality standard. Our goal will continue to be to partner with our participants to deliver personalised home care services to support you to live independent, healthy, happy lives, connected to your community.

What do you – the participant – need to do?

Absolutely nothing! There is no action you need to take – these new standards came into effect on 1 July and we will continue to ensure we exceed the assessment goals.

If you have any additional questions about the changes you can consult the Australian Government’s aged care website or watch this video – it answers some of the common questions you may have. 

How can we help you?